Serenity Now!

What’s in your bag?

Posted on: April 26, 2010

orange flower

A while ago Jen at Suburban Mum tagged me with my first meme – to reveal the contents of my handbag. And since it came with this lovely award/badge thing, how could I refuse?

Serenity’s got a brand new bag!

Oh yes I have! So I thought I’d kill two birds with one stone and write this post as I transfer my junk from my old bag to the new one. Before we start I must explain that this is my work bag, and so is, in theory at least, full of my stuff and not baby stuff.

First up, the usual: my house/car keys. Usually to be found right at the bottom, under tons of other stuff (especially if it’s raining).

Contents of my bag!

My purse, overstuffed not with tenners (sadly) but with pennies and receipts and coupons.

My trusty iPod, scratched and battered, but completely responsible for rekindling my love affair with music, which had hit a bit of a rough patch. It’s four years old now and I’m waiting for it to conk out so I can justify the expense of a shiny new one.

My mobile phone, also slightly less than cutting edge. Could do with a new one of those too. Seems to be a theme emerging here…

My work ID pass, needed to get through practically every door in the building these days. Why anyone would want to get in if they didn’t have to, I don’t know.

My notebook. Mmmm, Moleskine… The idea is that carrying a gorgeous notebook around with me will encourage me to write down ideas, which in turn will encourage me to write more when I get home. That’s the idea. The reality is that my notebook contains two shopping lists and one snippet of an idea that I scribbled down on the train last week. Oh well, it’s a start!

What else? My hairbrush, ponytail bands and lip balm. Half a pack of tissues. These were on special offer at Boots for something silly like eight packets for 50p. I soon discovered why – they’re impregnated with albas oil. A great idea you’d think but actually, walking around with one in your pocket makes you smell of poorly old lady. Which is not quite what I’m aiming for.

Crayons – part of every mum’s essential child entertainment kit I’m sure. These particular ones are from Pizza Hut I think.

A very small blue sock. So that’s where it went.

The little Scottie dog Radley tag that fell off my old bag several months ago.

Assorted pens and pencils.

A train timetable, because I have to go to London two or three times a week for work.

Breast pads. My little one’s 14 months now and we’re down to first thing in the morning and last thing before bed, but these are a legacy of the not-so-long-ago days when I couldn’t be sure they weren’t going to go off all by themselves for no apparent reason.

And that’s it, apart from a couple of rather disgusting-looking tissues, an old shopping list, and a bit of an old sweet wrapper. (I haven’t bothered to photograph these!). Not everything will make it into the new bag; my standards are hereby raised and I will keep the new bag tidy so I always have the things I need and can find them easily. Yeah right!

So that’s it; that’s my bag. The other part of this challenge is that I have to award the Sunshine Award, and the rules are:

  • Put the logo on your sidebar, or within a post
  • Pass the award onto 12 bloggers
  • Link the nominees within your post
  • Let the nominees know they have received this award by commenting on their blog
  • Share the love and link to the person from whom you received this award.

So I’m nominating:

Greenie

Nappy Valley Housewife

The Good, The Bad & The Ugly

Kooky Boutique

Smitten By Britain

Sticky Fingers

Where’s Your Other Sock Gone?

Incey Wincey Mummy

Mummy Musings

The Yummy Mummy Chronicles

Rock N Roll Baby World

Elle On The Go

If you’ve already done it, I apologise. If you haven’t, enjoy!

5 Responses to "What’s in your bag?"

Love this post! Perhaps u should get an iPhone? Would take care of the notebook (write thoughts on the phone), your timetable (just look it up), and your soon to be dead iPod. Well I’m a guy and don’t have a handbag seems like it would be nice. Instead all I can take when I go out the house is what can I fit in my pocket which these days is just: keys, wallet, iPhone.

Yes yes yes, I so do need an iPhone! Look OH, it’s not just me who thinks so!

Love the sock!

And I really must put together a little box of crayons or something – it’s the one thing I always forget to take with me. #badmother

[…] 28, 2010 in Uncategorized At the weekend Serenity Now tagged me in a ‘What’s in your handbag’ meme and I’ve finally got round to sharing the […]

I love products with touch screen because that is innovative and it is nice to work with a touch screen. But I don´t find a good notebook with good hardware. That´s terrible.

Leave a Reply

follow serenity now on twitter

Twitter Updates

British Mummy Bloggers
